Boards and Authorities

Newport Borough Municipal Authority


Name: Title:
James Sharar Chairman
Carl Roush
Vice Chairman
Timothy Seiber
Patricia Bowers
Office Secretary
Jacob Zentichko
Kayla Smith Board Member
Christopher Burkholder
Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator
Shawn Downey
Larson Design Group Engineer
Adam Britcher


The Newport Municipal Authority was developed to finance improvements to the sewer system. The sewer systems are owned by the Authority and leased to the Borough of Newport for operation. The system serves Newport Borough and parts of Oliver township.

The Authority consists of a five-member board that meets the fourth Thursday of every month at 7:00 P. M.  The meetings are held at the Newport Municipal Authority which is located at 101 Mulberry Street in Newport.

101 Mulberry ST
Newport, Pa. 17074
Phone: (717) 567-7005 – Secretary
Phone: (717) 572-2911 – Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator




Economic Development Committee

Name: Title:
Robert Sharar Member


231 Market St
Newport, Pa, 17074
Phone: (717) 567-3620

Newport Borough Water Authority

 Board Members:

Penny Frownfelter-Chairman

Harry Fahnestock-Vice Chairman

John McNaughton-Secretary

Gerald Robinson-Treasurer

Trevor Kaufman-Board Member


Office Staff:

Debra Kunish- Office Secretary

Dean Miller-Manager

Justin McNaughton-Operator



497 North Front Street, Newport, PA  17074

Phone:  (717) 567-6373



Monthly meetings are the first Monday of each month at 7:00 PM at 497 North Front Street, Newport.